Surprising Win of Leicester City F.C…!!! Best Fairy-tale of Soccer World
April 11, 2018
Female Soccer: Girls are not Left Behind
April 11, 2018
Show all


India is not more a left behind place for soccer. Already the nation had players like Abdul Rahim. In the era between 50’s to 60’s the national team was unstoppable. This team did qualify for the World Cup 1395 for once. Unfortunately, then the team withdrew themselves from the competition. The nation had not stopped showing the enthusiasm yet, they proved themselves several times that they are the best team in the Asian competition. Later the nation found another profound leader Sunil Chhetri who lead the team to the winning place of AFC Asian Cup in 2011 after around 27 years later. However, this country in-between broke the barrier of everything and introduced many clubs to start domestic matches.

I-League Once Renowned as National League:

The nation already tried their first attempt to bring in the clubs to show the affection for the game football in 96’. The very poor condition of infrastructures and low-grade professionalism, these things did not let the nation hold the opportunity. To reform the sensation of the game the authority came up with a new idea of re-creating the base and set the top league here and I-League was introduced as a big hope in 2007.

The 10 clubs which are holding the pride of this league and the country. The names are given below who are going to take part in the up-coming 2018 league fixtures. Champion title years are given aside.

    1. Aizawl FC (2016-17)
    2. Bengaluru FC (2013-14 & 2015-16)
    3. Chennai City FC
    4. Churchill Brothers Sports Club (2008-09 & 2012-13)
    5. DSK Shivajians FC
    6. East Bengal
    7. Minerva Punjab FC (2017-18)
    8. Mohun Bagan (2014-15)
    9. Mumbai FC
    10. Shillong Lajong FC

Here also a title of ‘golden boot’ is awarded to those players who scores most goals in a whole season. Among the Indian players, Sunil Chhetri is the only player who got the title for a couple of times.

ISL: The Most Awaited League

Indian Super League has been a classic newcomer to this country. People were becoming centralized to the only sports Cricket in this country. Then this league got introduced and successfully running since October 2013.

All India Football Federation with the co-operation of Reliance and Star Sports Network founded this project. Bollywood stars and other celebrities started biding their own clubs in the league. Teams which got introduced here-

  1. ATK
  2. Goa FC
  3. Northeast United
  4. Bengaluru FC
  5. Jamshedpur FC
  6. Pune City
  7. Chennaiyin FC
  8. Kerala Blasters
  9. Delhi Dynamos
  10. Mumbai City

Athletico De Kolkata and Chennaiyin FC are jointly holding the 2 times title holding teams in this super league. It got recognized in other places of the world. Firstly, the AFC approved it to get international Franchises to help it get more popularity. This time the seasons are to be put in the months from November to the mighty March. Before that, we saw it was placed in October and December.

However, a spirit of sports is a very important thing here. A nation is lagging behind for a long time, although they had sportsmen who could keep the flow up to the mark. The initial atmosphere never supported soccer games in this nation. Now, this situation is slightly dealt for a moment, people are supporting this behavior. A lot of stadiums are prepared to represent the own clubs. From Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata to Fatorda Stadium in Goa and from Mumbai Patil Stadium to Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium in Assam; all are expanding the boundary of support for the game Soccer.

Comments are closed.